Skip to content

Want, not need

January 19, 2012

Fuji’s FinePix X100 has been on the market for a while now, receives great reviews, and is even showing up on the used market locally.

It’s a great little pocket-sized camera with a sensor comparable to that in my Nikon D5000. It’s got both an optical viewfinder and an lcd, both of which I find useful. A 35mm f2 lens, which is close to the Nikon 35mm f1.8 that I use more than anything else day-to-day. And that pocketable size.

The problem, as with a lot of things in the “want, not need” category is that it costs money. It retails for $1200  and even used costs $1000. There’s no way I can justify it, not matter how much fun it would be, or how much more convenient it would make my Project 365.

At some level I’ve been spoiled by the performance of my Nikon D5000, which even as a consumer-level DSLR is so head-and-shoulders above the little point-and-shoots I used to monkey around with that I can’t imagine going back to those tiny little sensors, even though they’re much more convenient to carry around.

Well, maybe when I win the lottery, the X100 Black Limited Edition will be my first purchase. Useful for photographing the Porsche that becomes my second purchase.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

